THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF ESSA INAUGURAL MEETING OF COUNCIL NOVEMBER 16, 2022

MINUTES

The Inaugural Meeting of Council was held in-person on November 16, 2022 at Living Faith Community Presbyterian Church located at 206 Murphy Road, Baxter.

Elected Officials In attendance:

Mayor Sandie Macdonald Deputy Mayor Michael Smith Councillor Pieter Kiezebrink Councillor Henry Sander Councillor Liana Maltby

1. OPENING OF MEETING

The Chief Administrative Officer opened the meeting at 1:00 p.m.

2. NATIONAL ANTHEM

Singing of the National Anthem was led by the choir from Music In Motion.

3. PRAYER OF INDUCTION

Reverend Jonathan Tait provided the Prayer of Induction.

4. WELCOME TO DIGNITARIES, SPECIAL GUESTS AND STAFF

The Chief Administrative Officer welcomed all dignitaries, special guests and staff to the Inaugural Meeting of the 2022-2026 Council of the Township of Essa.

5. DELCARATION OF OFFICE

The following members of the 2022-2026 Council were sworn in by the Clerk:

- Mayor Sandie Macdonald
- Deputy Mayor Michael Smith
- Councillor Ward 1 Pieter Kiezebrink
- Councillor Ward 2 Henry Sander
- Councillor Ward 3 Liana Maltby

6. PRESENTATION OF MAYOR'S CHAIN OF OFFICE

The Chain of Office was presented to Mayor Macdonald by Ryan Macdonald (son) and Krystal White (daughter).

Mayor Macdonald assumed the seat of Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

7. INAUGURAL ADDRESS BY MAYOR MACDONALD

Mayor Macdonald provided her Inaugural Address. She extended thanks to all in attendance and congratulated the new and returning members of Council.

8. REMARKS BY DEPUTY MAYOR SMITH

Deputy Mayor Smith congratulated the new and returning members of Council and thanked all those in attendance.

9. REMARKS BY COUNCILLORS

Remarks and acknowledgements were provided by:

- Pieter Kiezebrink, Ward 1 Councillor
- Henry Sander, Ward 2 Councillor
- Liana Maltby, Ward 3 Councillor

10. REMARKS BY DIGNITARIES

The following dignitaries took the podium to extend congratulations to the new and returning members of Essa Council:

- Warden George Cornell County of Simcoe
- Mayor-Elect Richard Norcross Town of New Tecumseth
- Mayor-Elect James Leduc Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
- Councillor-Elect Steffan Walma Township of Tiny

11. PERFORMANCE BY MUSIC IN MOTION

12. ADJOURNMENT

Resolution No: CW106-2022 Moved by: Kiezebrink Seconded by: Sander

Be it resolved that the Inaugural Meeting of Council of the Township of Essa adjourn at 2:00 p.m.

Sandie Macdonald, Mayor

Lisa Lehr, Clerk

-Carried----